The Honorable Cheryl Kagan

Board of Trustees


Senator Cheryl C. Kagan (D-District 17) represents Rockville and Gaithersburg and serves on the Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee. She is the Senate Chair of the Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review. Sen. Kagan has earned a reputation as an independent-minded legislator with a strong voice for her constituents on public safety, consumer protection, transportation, creating technology jobs, and more. While in the Senate, Kagan has passed landmark laws to help nonprofits.


Sen. Kagan has received many honors and local recognitions beyond her service to the community. Her work with the nonprofit community was highlighted when she was recognized as the first-ever Legislative Champion by Maryland Nonprofits for her leadership on behalf of this vital sector.

Prior to joining the Senate, Sen. Kagan represented the same district in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1995 to 2003. After choosing not to seek reelection, she stayed involved in the community as the first-ever Executive Director of the Carl M. Freeman Foundation. 

Sen. Kagan is a Montgomery County native and graduate of our public schools. Having studied political science and public policy at Vassar College and University of Maryland, she has also taught two semesters of State & Local government at Montgomery College.


CaringMatters provides social supports and community education so that no one dies or grieves alone.  


Phone: 301-869-HOPE (4673)

Registered Charity: 52-1591455

Sign Up for Our

Newsletter & Updates

United Way #8365 | CFC #42512
Platinum logo.PNG
© 2020 CaringMatters

CaringMatters is a 501(c)(3) non-profi­t organization registered with the State of Maryland, and our EIN is 52-1591455. A copy of our current ­financial statement is available by contacting CaringMatters, Inc. at 518 South Frederick Avenue, Gaithersburg, MD 20877 or at 301-869-4673. Documents and information submitted to the State of Maryland Charitable Solicitations Act are available from the Office of the Secretary.